Well, hello everybody.  It’s been a while since your old friend crotch has reered his ugly head in this neck of the woods.  What can I say, I’ve been busy fighting tyranny and punishing the guilty for their crimes.  Anyway now on to what I came here for, besides polutting your minds. 

I was at work tonight when for whatever reason they put on the satalite radio an old theme song station.  I don’t know if that was what it’s actual purpose or title was but that’s all they seemed to play: Movie and television show theme songs.  We were regaled with tunes as diverse and glorious as the theme from Good Times, Facts of Life and Golden Girls.  Of the film songs they played one that I didn’t expect to hear came rolling out of the speakers.  That song?  Alfie by Burt Bacharach.  It’s a bit of a sad song for what is ultimately a sad movie but has been one of my guilty loves for years.  I started talking to the customer in my line and realized that we both somehow knew all the lyrics and ended up singing them together.  It was fun but also kinda weird that I had a moment like this with a man who had to be, by all appearances, in his fifties.  Anyway for the curious at heart I give you the lyrics.  They’re good and they do mean something to both the movie and to me.  Which is why I love as much as I do.  Enjoy:

Whats it all about, alfie?
Is it just for the moment we live?
Whats it all about when you sort it out, alfie?
Are we meant to take more than we give
Or are we meant to be kind?
And if only fools are kind, alfie,
Then I guess its wise to be cruel.
And if life belongs only to the strong, alfie,
What will you lend on an old golden rule?
As sure as I believe theres a heaven above, alfie,
I know theres something much more,
Something even non-believers can believe in.
I believe in love, alfie.
Without true love we just exist, alfie.
Until you find the love youve missed youre nothing, alfie.
When you walk let your heart lead the way
And you’ll find love alfie.
 
Crotch

Leave a Reply

